Words like Water

I’m not a fast writer. It is day four of Nanowrimo, and I’m only at 2,040 words. But I’m not discouraged. I’ve had work and other responsibilities, and it’s just the beginning.

Sometimes I feel like writing is like encountering a stopped up faucet, or a or leaking damn. At first only a little bit of water gets through. But over time, the strength of the water overcomes its barrier and pushes its way through, until the water is moving at full force. Words are like water. They’re powerful. Sometimes when you start out, the words are lost to you. They only trickle out. But the more you work on something the more easily the words come, and then they come out full force.

Lao-Tzu_Water

Right now, I feel like my words are blocked, but that they are trying to get out. I think with persistence they will come.

My goals for Nanowrimo go beyond just writing 50,000 words by the end of the month. In fact, whether or not I actually write that many words is my least priority. For me, this month is about building focus and consistency, about learning discipline. I want to see what I can do.

Besides, I still have 26 more days.

 

3 thoughts on “Words like Water

  1. This blog post contains a beautiful metaphor. I think you have the right idea: just keep going and the words will come. After all, the creative muscle is a muscle like any other, it must be exercised to grow and work properly. Besides, as you implied, November is just one month, and it’s more important to figure out how writing works for you all the time, not just for NaNoWriMo.

    Unrelated — I love the Nabokov quote at the top of your page. He is one of my favorite writers, and that is perfect NaNoWriMo inspiration.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment and kind words.I also like your metaphor about creativity being a muscle.It’s very true.

      And I’m glad you liked the quote! I haven’t read much by Nabokov, but what I have read is absolutely beautiful, and I look forward to reading more of him.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Brett P. S. and commented:
    Same here. I am writing something specifically for NaNoWriMo, but I’m also only at about 2,200 words. Definitely not going to make the 50,000 by the end of the month, but I share your view in that it’s more about developing consistency and following through. Hope you have something awesome by the end of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

