Where I Left Off

I wanted to start to a blog because I wanted a reason to write.

But not just to write, because I always have a reason to write. I wanted a reason to write something from start to finish. I wanted a reason to share what I wrote.

I wanted to start a blog because I liked the idea of it. I liked the idea of composing a completed piece of work, of revising and editing it, of posting it for others to see. I liked the idea of a blogging community. The structure. The accountability.

I wanted to start a blog to feel like a real writer.

I wanted to be a better writer.

And, this isn’t my first blog. There have a been other incarnations. I’ve started over many times. But, though I haven’t posted here in about year, I’m not starting over again. I just want to pick up where I left off.

There have been many starts. The term “false starts” comes to mind, but I wouldn’t call it that. I don’t like the term “false starts”. What makes them false? Calling them false negates their value. Just because I neglected my blog, let it go dormant, unloved and unused for a year, does that mean what I did write, and what I did publish, doesn’t have value? Does it mean I didn’t learn anything?

No. And to start over again, would also negate that value.

I want to keep moving forward. I want to continue. I want to persist.
Nothing is completely without seams, or flaws.

So, what brings me here again? Why do I want to try again, to continue?

The same reasons.

I want to be a better writer. I want to connect with other writers. I want to practice. I want to learn

I know that having a blog can help me be a better writer because to be a better writer you have to write a lot. And to be a good blogger you have to write a lot. To be a good blogger you also have to be organized, disciplined, and consistent. These aren’t inherent characteristics or personality traits that a person either has or doesn’t have. They are skills like any other, skills that a good writer needs just as much as a blogger. Or anyone who wants to be successful at anything, for that matter.

These are skills I’m working on.

I don’t want to make New Year’s Resolutions, or set super specific goals for the year, because any time is a good time for change.I just want to start small and see what happens.

There have been many changes in my life since last year. I can see many more are headed my way this year, and surely, there are some that I can’t see. It’s an interesting time for me, and life is always changing anyway.

I just want to write.

I want to experiment. I want to write on various topics, and in various styles. I want to try different genres, and different forms. I want to explore everything that I am passionate about. I want to see how my voice changes along the way.

I want to write. No pressure. Just write and see what happens. I will see what works, and what doesn’t. I can figure the rest out later.

To write anything, to finish it and post it for anyone who happens to stumble by to see–that feels like an accomplishment. And every time, it’s another accomplishment.

I’ll start there, and see how it goes.

4 thoughts on “Where I Left Off

    1. Thank you! That’s a great compliment. I felt that line strongly as I wrote it, and it feels good to know that any of that might translate to someone else.
      Good luck to you too! I looking forward to reading some of your writing as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel like you are telling what I exactly want to say. I never thought I would be able to publish a book before that. I have been writing on my facebook short notes and a lot of people followed me for that. These are so personal and I needed to hide some of them now. Then I saw my professor wrote in his status that he wanted to translate his award winning novel from Myanmar to English. I offered him whether I could do it without expecting he would let me do it ( someone who never published any book before and never practiced translation as well ). But he told me ” please translate and show me”. Then I showed my draft to him and he loved it. His publisher loved it and we were able to publish my first novel in February 2015. I know I am very fortunate to have that chance. But I want to encourage all of you who read this post that anything can be possible with determination ,discipline and lots of dreams. plz check out this website for my book. E book is available there and the first book of editor’s choice is mine. :)
    http://www.myanmarbookshop.com/EnglishBooks/BookDetails/36383

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement! I’m so happy for you that got such an amazing opportunity. I wish you all the best with your writing and everything you do!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

