This is what I’ve learned:
Rule 1: Stay out of the way. If someone bumps into you, you’re cover is blown.
Rule 2: Don’t bump into anything or knock anything over. It doesn’t matter if they can’t see you, if you start making a ruckus.
Rule 3: While we’re on the subject, be quiet. Wear clothing that doesn’t rustle too much, walk gently, and don’t breath too heavily.

I’m upstairs in the bedroom when I hear noise in the kitchen. I got home from work early and came up to change. I finish dressing quickly. This is perfect. I prepare myself. I check my reflection in the mirror and it isn’t there. It’s weird not having a reflection, but that’s how I know it’s working.

I sneak out of the bedroom and down the hall. I see the cat coming up the stairs. He stops in front of me and stares.

“Shh,” I whisper. “Shoo.” He can’t see me, but he can sense me. Smell me probably. I nudge him with my foot and he takes toward the bedroom. I pause and listen. There’s still noise coming from the kitchen. I hear clanking and rustling. I take this opportunity to slowly make my way down the stairs. I hope the noise in the kitchen is enough to cover any creaking noises in the stairs.

I make it to the bottom of the stairs making barely a sound. I’m getting better at this. I’ve never been the most graceful person in the world, but ever since I got the ability to appear and disappear I’ve been working on my ninja skills.

I’m in the living room when I reach the end of the stairs. Our roommate is exactly where I left her when I got home, in the chair with her headphones in, reading. She’s in her own world. I doubt she’s heard anyhting. I saunter through the living room, careful not to bump into the end table. I don’t know how many times I’ve clipped myself on that thing. I pause again and listen.

It’s quiet for a moment. Then I hear the sink turn on.

I’m just around the corner from the kitchen. I peer inside. He’s standing by the sink. I move to enter the small kitchen and pause by the counter just as he turns from the sink and heads straight toward me. I quickly and quietly side step out of the way just before he would have bumped into me. He picks up a knife and walks back to the sink. He sets it down in the basin.

I walk up behind him and grab his sides.

“Boo!” I exclaim. He jumps.

“Jesus, Serena!” He shouts, a smile creeping onto his face. “You scared the shit out of me.”

*

This little piece of flash fiction was inspired by a Daily Post prompt I saw last week that intrigued me. I didn’t know where I what I wanted to do with it, at first. I didn’t want it to be too much like the piece I wrote last week involving superpowers. So, I thought to myself, what would I do if I could disappear and reappear at will–scare the shit out of my boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

