I admit I’ve been distracted this week. In fact, I’ve been sitting on this post for days. I can’t help it; I was lost in an amazing book. (The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi, more about that later).

And I finished it today, so here we are.

But even still, I’ve spent a lot of timing reflecting on the Blogging 101 course I’ve been spending time on this month.

First of all, I have to say, I’m proud of myself for sticking with it consistently, while not letting it stress me out. That’s a pretty big feat for me. There are still a few lessons I’m working on, and a few I haven’t completed yet. But I know which ones they are and I’m not done yet. I plan to keep working on them.

Even though I still have a few assignments to finish, and many of them were late (you know, life happens), I feel like I’ve gotten so much out of this month.

I love how Blogging 101 let me slow down and take things one at a time. By easing into things, I didn’t get overwhelmed. Nor did I get caught in a customization black hole, or something similar. I was able to experiment with all aspects of blogging, from writing and idea generation to the technical skills, like how to create a text widget. I got to discover new blogs and get more comfortable commenting and interacting with others.

I feel less overwhelmed, more committed, and better prepared. This month I have written and produced more than I have in a while. I feel re-energized creatively.

I know that there is always more to learn and it will take continuous work and practice to become a better writer, blogger, and creative human. There is always more to strive for, but it’s important to appreciate all of our successes along the way. I’m happy to see how far I’ve come so far, and I’m excited to see how I’ll learn, grow and change from here.

Leave a Reply

