The Creative Stretch

Creativity is more than painting a picture or writing a story. It’s more than art. More than a way of thinking. It’s a skill. The same thing that allows us to daydream on the bus or design a building can help us find unique solutions to everyday problems, big and small.

Creativity is something we can improve, just like any other skill. It’s something all creative types, and perhaps everyone in general, can and should practice.

I like to practice creative thinking, not just by focusing on writing (my main creative outlet), but also by finding other ways to be creative. No act of creativity is insignificant, and something as simple has decorating my nails in a new and unique way or coloring page in a coloring book has value to me.

Finding various was to be creative feels like stretching. It helps me keep my creative mind limber and generate new ideas.

Every month I want to find at least one way to practice creativity besides writing. It doesn’t have to be elaborate, or even good. It just has to be something that stretches my creative muscles. At the end of the month, I’ll share what I did here on the blog.

My New Feature

Meet my new Feature.

This is my first time introducing the Creative Stretchmy new posting feature. I spent this month participating in Blogging 101: Zero to Hero, and this idea was born from one of the assignments, which was of course to create a blogging feature.

As a writer, the first things that came to mind, not surprisingly, were related to writing. I thought about doing something like flash fiction Friday, but I wanted to do something different. I also wanted to start with something smaller and less stressful to start.

And at some point while brainstorming ideas, I came up with this one.

Designed a Custom Header (And a Featured Image)

So what did I do this month?

Well, to be honest I spent most of this month focused on Blogging 101, and only came up with this idea a little over a week ago.

However, part of spending this month focused on this blog meant spending quite a bit of time personalizing and designing the look of it. Through the course of that, I experimented a lot with designing feature images and custom headers. Below are some of the versions I made before settling on the ones you can see here on the blog.

I designed all of these using public domain photos and Picmonkey. Since I can’t run Illustrator on my laptop, which is where I do all my writing and blogging, I wanted to find an alternative for the quick and simple things.

 

Did you do something creative this month? Or try something new? I’d love hear about it; feel free to share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

