Almost Midnight

This month’s Yeah Write poem was the haiku.

I don’t normally read or write much poetry, but I love haikus. I was so excited! I really wanted to write and submit a haiku. So, I have been working on one on and off all month.

Unfortunately, I forgot about it last night. We had a friend over for dinner. She comes over every week (usually on Wednesday, not Tuesday), so I was a little distracted. It happens.

But since I only get home a little before 7pm, I missed the deadline to submit this for the contest. By like a minute.

Really, it’s the minute that kills me. Especially since I was even home earlier that usual.

Oh, and because I finally finished the haiku. On Sunday.

It’s all good though. Because I worked hard on it, dammit! And I’m going to share it anyway!

Because I can.

(And besides, isn’t the point, really, that I wrote it?)

This haiku is inspired by a time, a while back, when I was working swing shift, and I was waiting for the Max (light rail) after work. I’d always wanted to write a haiku about that moment. Almost Midnight is the name of the poem.

Spring breeze sets paper

on the tracks, as the train nears.

A man plays his sax.

Leave a Reply

