“With hearts established in mindfulness,

we are truly present.”

-Thich Nhat Hanh

This quote is featured on the front of my Thich Nhat Hanh date book that I use to keep track of my daily reflection. I decided shortly after getting this planner to use the quotes featured at the beginning of each month as writing prompts so that I could reflect on them. Not only do I process things best through writing, but it would give me something to write about.But even after I made that decision, I never really registered the one on the front.I was too focused on the ones inside I suppose.

But even after I made that decision, I never really registered the one on the front.I was too focused on the ones inside, I suppose.

I love that this is the quote on the front because it so beautifully captures my goal. The reason I decided to write something positive about each day was in an effort to slow down time and experience each day independently. I wanted to be more mindful and conscious of each day, to see each day as unique in its own way.

To say that my goal is write something positive each day is a simplification. The idea originally was to write down each day what set that day apart from any other. It could be something good that happened, something I learned, something I observed. Anything. But the idea was that it had to be positive (because there’s no point in fostering negativity) and I had to make an effort to find something unique (to resist falling into the trap of using the same thing over and over again).

To simplify: I write down something positive (and unique) about the day every day.

Over time I’ve realized that there are many layers to this simple act. It is both a practice of positivity and a practice of mindfulness. I hope together this practice will not only make me more present, but happier.

When I first bought this date book, I bought it with the intention of using it primarily to plan my coding lesson plan and track my progress. It was only after I brought it home I realized it was perfect for tracking my daily positivity/mindfulness reflection (I promise I’ll figure out a less cumbersome name for this project).

It was serendipity (again). A beautiful coincidence.

(I’m a sucker for a good coincidence).

It’s so easy to get caught up in the day. It’s not always easy to practice mindfulness, but I hope in this small way I can be more present. And maybe over time, with practice, I will find ways to expand that mindfulness to become more and more present.

Leave a Reply

