I feel better after this weekend than I did after the last one. I had to work Saturday, but was off on Friday and managed to keep up with my blog posts and complete a few freeform projects on CodeCademy.I even did some cleaning around the house.I actually feel productive, and that always makes starting a new week easier.

I actually feel productive, and that always makes starting a new week easier.

I’ve always struggled with having too many interests to balance, so I have always jumped around from thing to thing and back again.I want to change industries and become a front-end web developer and web designer. So lately I have been trying to balance teaching myself how to code with trying to write every day and working full-time.

It’s  hard to know how much time to spend on each. My instinct says to spend as much time as I can on coding because building websites is what I hope to make a living doing. But I want writing to contribute to how I support myself in the future, as well, and it’s also my sanity. So how do I balance the two?

I don’t think I can answer that now. I don’t know that I ever will. It will likely take me longer to reach both of my goals splitting my time like this. But I tried not writing and focusing only on learning to code, and that didn’t work well for me.

I’m putting a lot on my plate right now, but it has never served me well to keep writing out of my life. It’s too much a part of me, and it’s something I need to do.

Somehow I will have to find a balance. Some weeks will be better than others. This was a better week.

 

Leave a Reply

